Dear friends, dear friends of the song, honored audience,

a tour with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra under Sir Simon Rattle, concerts with the Cleveland Orchestra under Franz Welser-Möst, the Symphony Orchestra of the Bavarian Broadcasting and the London Symphony Orchestra under Bernard Haitink, Britten’s “War Requiem” at the London Proms with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under Andris Nelsons and a small world tour with Mozart’s “Magic Flute” as “Papageno” with the Budapest Festival Orchestra under Iván Fischer as musical director as well as many songs are going to be the highlights of my season 2014/15, following the opening concert of the Salzburg Festival 2014 under Bernard Haitink.

Being able to combine this international concert activity at the side of so inspiring musicians with my involvement in young people makes me feel deeply grateful!
Beside of my own three children I currently have 11 students and the pleasure to be able to act as a “speaker” of a very engaged “song practice group” at the Hochschule for Music in Karlsruhe (www.hfm.eu). It’s really meaningful for me and my highly motivated colleagues to campaign for optimal surrounding conditions of singing education.
As professor in the 6th semester it is giving me hope to be able to accompany my students on their way to the podia (apart from uncountable concerts only three of them can be heard at the Kammeroper Castle Rheinsberg (The Magic Flute) in summer 2014).

It gives reason for hope that the Stuttgart Land Government is going to re-integrate the fundamental subject Music to the curriculum of primary schools.
The fusion of our excellent SWR orchestra as well as the cutting by the Regional Accounting Office for the conservatories thwart this decision sadly, though.
It remains a great task to convince the decision boards of any color of the reasonableness of musical education and thus of the humanization of society! Franz Schubert, for example, was a freelance artist and certainly did not get wealthy. But he enriches people till this day. Fortunately his sovereign allowed to train him according to his talent!

It’s about more than our „German cultural nation“ – it’s about the cultural heritage of Europe, about the reflection of human being, about what separates us from the monkey. An indicator for that shall also be the tour of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra under Sir Simon Rattle to celebrate the 25th jubilee of the Berlin Fall of the Wall. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 will be staged in Berlin, Leipzig, Budapest and Prague. Karol Szymanowski‘s “Saber mater” will be added in Warsaw.
Regrettably, these extremely humane works unfortunately make more sense in 2014 than ever, to warn against cold and hot wars and remember the absurdity of innumerable victims of these humane meanders on all sides.
I appreciate the honor to be able to take part as a Baden European of German nation and musical world citizen, in short: as a “human being”.
A lot of fun with the music, the details and a lot of luck in the life!

Yours, Hanno Müller-Brachmann

Liebe Freunde, liebe Freunde des Gesanges, verehrtes Publikum,

eine Tournee mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Sir Simon Rattle, Konzerte mit dem Cleveland Orchestra unter Franz Welser-Möst, dem Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks und dem London Symphony Orchestra unter Bernard Haitink, Brittens „War Requiem“ bei den Londoner Proms mit dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra unter Andris Nelsons und eine kleine Welttournee mit Mozarts „Zauberflöte“ als „Papageno“ mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra unter der musikalischen Leitung von Iván Fischer, sowie viele Lieder bilden die Höhepunkte meiner Saison 2014/15, die sich an das Eröffnungskonzert der Salzburger Festspiele 2014 unter Bernard Haitink anschließt.

Dass sich diese internationale Konzerttätigkeit an der Seite so inspirierender Musiker mit meinem Engagement für den Nachwuchs verbinden lässt, erfüllt mich mit größter Dankbarkeit!
Neben meinen drei eigenen Kindern habe ich derzeit 11 Studenten und die Freude, eine sehr engagierte „Fachgruppe Gesang“ an der Hochschule für Musik in Karlsruhe (www.hfm.eu) als „Sprecher“ vertreten zu dürfen. Mich hier mit meinen hochmotivierten Kollegen für optimale Rahmenbedingungen der Gesangsausbildung einzusetzen, empfinde ich als sehr sinnvoll.
Meine Studenten bei ihrem Weg auf die Podien (neben unzähligen Konzerten sind im Sommer 2014 allein drei davon bei der Kammeroper Schloss Rheinsberg (Zauberflöte) zu erleben) begleiten zu dürfen, erfüllt mich als Professor im 6. Semester mit Hoffnung.

Hoffen lässt auch, dass die Stuttgarter Landesregierung das grundständige Fach Musik wieder in den Lehrplan der Grundschulen aufnehmen möchte.
Die Fusion unserer exzellenten SWR-Orchester sowie die Sparvorgaben des Landesrechnungshofes für die Musikhochschulen in Baden-Württemberg konterkarieren diese Entscheidung allerdings aufs Betrüblichste. Großartig, dass die Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer sich nach einem vorbildlichen Kommunikationsprozess mit allen Beteiligten diesen Vorgaben des Landesrechnungshofes nicht gebeugt hat, der alle Musikhochschulen des Landes ins Mittelmaß geführt hätte!
Es bleibt eine große Aufgabe, unsere Entscheidungsträger jeglicher Couleur von der Sinnhaftigkeit musikalischer Bildung und damit von der Humanisierung der Gesellschaft zu überzeugen! Franz Schubert z.B. war freischaffender Künstler und ist sicher nicht reich geworden. Aber er bereichert die Menschheit bis heute. Glücklicherweise hat sein Landesherr ihn seiner Begabung entsprechend ausbilden lassen!

Es geht um mehr als unsere „deutsche Kulturnation“ – es geht um das kulturelle Erbe Europas, um die Reflektion des menschlichen Seins, um das, was uns vom Affen trennt.
Ein Zeichen dafür soll auch die Tournee der Berliner Philharmoniker unter Sir Simon Rattle anlässlich des 25-jährigen Jubiläums des „Berliner Mauerfalles“ sein.
Beethovens 9. Sinfonie wird in Berlin, Leipzig, Budapest und Prag aufgeführt. In Warschau wird das „Stabat mater“ von Karol Szymanowski ergänzt.
Mit diesen zutiefst humanen Werken vor kalten und heißen Kriegen zu warnen und der Sinnlosigkeit der millionenfachen Opfer dieser menschlichen Irrwege auf allen Seiten zu gedenken, macht  im Jahre 2014 leider wieder mehr Sinn denn je.
Ich bin dankbar für die Ehre,  als badischer Europäer deutscher Nation und musikalischer Weltenbürger , kurz: als „Mensch“ dabei sein zu dürfen.

Viel Freude mit der Musik, den Details und viel Glück im Leben!

Ihr Hanno Müller-Brachmann